Go to Mobile Site >>>

Winter Racing Carnival
Racing Queensland Home
Saturday, 18 April 2015


NOMINATIONS 1800 851 155

Greyhound racing in Queensland has had a long and proud history. From the halcyon days of night racing at the famous "Gabba" which commenced in 1972, to racing commencing at the Albion Park Raceway in 1993.

Queensland has produced a number of champion greyhounds of the years that include, Top Simbi, New Tears, Just The Best, Miss Brook, Flying Amy, Pretty Fearless, Bogie Leigh, to name a few.

A number of Australia's feature events are conducted in Queensland these include, Group 1 Brisbane Cup 520m, Winter Cup 520m, Gold Cup 710m and the richest maiden series the Vince Curry Memorial conducted by Ipswich GRC.

Greyhound racing in Queensland is conducted at 7 venues namely, Albion Park, Ipswich, Capalaba, Bundaberg, Rockhampton, Townsville and Cairns. Of these Albion Park, Ipswich, Rockhampton and Townsville are classified as TAB meetings and vision shown via Sky Racing.

There are some 545 race meetings and 5145 races conducted in Queensland. Of which 171 meetings and 1424 races are conducted at a non-tab level. Over 37,000 starters compete at these events to win a share of over $9.7 million in prizemoney annually.

Greyhounds running